The Republican Party

The Republican Party was born in the early 1850's by antislavery activists and individuals who believed that government should grant western lands to settlers free of charge. The first informal meeting of The party took place in Ripon, Wisconsin. he first official Republican Party meeting took place on July 6th, 1854 in Jackson, Michigan. The name "Republican" was chosen because it alluded to equality and reminded individuals of Thomas Jefferson's Democratic-Republican Party.

In 1856, the Republicans became a national party. John C. Fremont was nominated for President under the slogan: "Free soil, free labor, free speech. free men, Fremont." Even though they were considered a "Third Party", Fremont received 33% of the vote. Four years later, Abraham Lincoln became the first Republican to win the White House.

The national structure of the Republican Party starts with the Republican National Committee. Each state has its own Republican State Committee with a Chairman and staff. The Republican Party structure goes right down to the neighborhoods, where a Republican precinct captain organizes Republican workers to get out the vote.

The symbol of the Republican Party is the elephant. During the mid term elections way back in 1874, Democrats tried to scare voters into thinking President Grant would seek to run for an unprecedented third term. Thomas Nast, a cartoonist for Harper's Weekly, depicted a Democratic Jackass trying to scare a Republican elephant - and both symbols stuck.

For a long time Republicans have been known as the "GOP." And party faithfuls thought it meant the "Grand Old Party" But apparently the original meaning (in 1875) was "gallant old party."

Federal Links

National Federation of Republican Women
Republican National Committee

State Links

Oregon Federated Republican Women
Oregon Republican Party
Cedric Hayden - District 7 State Representative

County Links

Lane County Republicans
Gary Williams - Lane County Commissioner
Rubicon Society

Other Links

Conservative Talk Show Host - Lars Larson
Conservative Talk Show Host - Sean Hannity